“keen-wah”

by none

Spotted: a ripe nonetheless too sweet to eat banana
Leading & influencing: a pursuit through the WordPress world for an unconventional, lip-smacking yet wholesome banana bread recipe
Outcome: a quinoa burger recipe motivating funemployed/vegetarian me to make dinner for not only me but for the progenitors as well (win-win situation)

I went from having the motivated to take on the task of searching for and baking a wholesome banana bread to making quinoa burgers. Coming across a quinoa burger recipe, i was ecstatic for two reasons.

  1. In the kitchen cabinet I have come across this bag of Fair Trade Organic Black Quinoa from Bolivia & have been patiently waiting for someone in the house to make it.
  2. I am a vegetarian who loves everything there is to a burger – minus the meat of course. So when an oppurtunity arises where there is a meatless burger involved I am the first in line.

Quickly before my incitement to make the quinoa burger turned into disinterest, I headed over to the kitchen and operation quinoa burger was underway.

Though the foundation idea of this quinoa burger came from a recipe I came across on Word Press, by the time I was down preparing the ingredients I had made my variation of the recipe.  Nevertheless, I give most of the credit for sparking this idea to the original creator.

Ingredients:
1 cup uncooked quinoa
2 cups water
1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese (I used 75% reduced fat sharp & grated it myself)
1/2 cup cottage cheese
1 medium carrot, finely grated
3 eggs (I omitted the third egg yolk in an effort to make this healthier)
2-3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 green onion – chopped up
1/2 cup of red, yellow, & green bell peppers
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes (love picante things) 
Sunflower Oil (Spray) for “frying” ← that’s a curse word in my world
Bun/Bread/Wrap
(one, two, or all)

I decided to venture out to the herb garden in our backyard to see what I could make use of in this burger. These ingredients are of course optional but highly recommended for not only flavor reasons but also for reasons as to making the recipe even more parts fresh.




Directions:

To cook quinoa: In a medium saucepan bring the 2 cups water & 1/2 teaspoon salt to a boil over high heat.  Add quinoa and reduce heat to low.  Cover & cook for 18-20 minutes, or until the seeds are tender.  Allow to cool for a few minutes.

In a large bowl combine the all the ingredients including the cooked quinoa.

Generously coat the frying pan with sunflower oil & heat it over medium-low heat. Measure 1/4 cup and form into patties about 1/2 inch thick  – mixture will be slightly sticky.  Fry until golden-brown, about 6 minutes on each side.

Once all the patties are off the stove top, they are ready for their final construction. I assembled a variety of mini quinoa burgers ranging from being placed on top of a toasted slice of artisan wheat loaf & topping that off with either chipotle BBQ sauce or of course, the main edge to a standard burger – ketchup.


The other variation I played around with was wrapping the quinoa burger with a healthy jalapeño & cilantro flavored flour tortilla – warmed up on the stove top. My mom is a huge fan of humus so she elected to spread it all over her tortilla prior to placing the quinoa burger.

Both of the versions were granted a few slices of tomatoes & chopped up lettuce.

The first bite taken into these quinoa burgers were so flavorful that I was lost in a trance and completely neglected to take a picture of the final product. But take my word for it make this! Not only is it healthy and mouth-watering (I don’t even wanna tell you how many i consumed) but also the recipe made an abundant amount of patties aka I’ll be eating this for lunch and dinner for the next day or two which I am totally DTE (Down To Eat).

Now, back to that banana bread recipe search

