Quick, Catch!

by none

Even as I am funemployed for a month or two I have failed to update on a regular basis. Nevertheless, in the past week I’ve trumped up with a few concoctions. Let’s start with the one recipe which caught everyone, including me by surprise & then left me (along with everyone who tried it) in disbelief. “What? What could it be?” you’re probably thinking.
Let me start with the name of this hybrid recipe.. brown sugar banana cupcakes with avocado buttercream”

 

Yeah you heard right, avocado on a banana bread type of base. Avocado? What?! Very unlike me to make something that does not make me drool at just the words. ‘Cause you know, who drools when they think of avocado buttercream? I hope no one. After justifying that avocado was indeed a fruit, which many mistaken it for a vegetable, along with seeing how many people commented and praised how good this cupcake is, I baked away.
A revelation, for sure.

Here is the original recipe that inspire me to make these cupcakes (from How Sweet It Is) mixed in with the changes* I made
Brown Sugar Banana Cupcakes
makes 12-20 cupcakes, depending on your scoop

1 1/3 cups flour
1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
pinch of nutmeg *omitted
1 egg
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 large ripe bananas, mashed *only used 2
1/4 cup sour cream *used fage original greek yogurt, fat free
1/2 cup butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a muffin tin with cupcake liners.

Combine dry flour, salt, baking soda, cinnamon and nutmeg and set aside. In a bowl, whisk egg and add brown sugar, mixing until smooth. Stir in vanilla extract. Add sour cream and melted butter and mix. Stir in dry ingredients, then add mashed bananas and mix until batter comes together. The batter will be thick. Using an ice cream scoop or 1/4 cup measure, scoop batter in liners. Bake for 15-18 minutes. Let cool completely.

 

Avocado Buttercream

2 ripe avocados
2 tablespoons butter, softened *used only 1 tablespoon
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
4 cups powdered sugar *used only 3 1/2 cups
pinch of salt

Cream avocado and butter together until smooth. With the mixer on low speed, add powdered sugar one cup at a time. Sprinkle in a pinch of salt and add vanilla. More sugar can be added if you’d like the frosting thicker. Frosting can be store in the fridge for up to three days — but i bet you it wont even last you three days. I kept the cupcakes refrigerated just like the original recipe recommended.

 

